Bigger than Bridgit’s

downloadSo here are the knickers I have made to go with my 1940’s bra. They are a mash-up of Colette Patterns Madeleine Bloomers cp0001-01-thumb-1034d05a57fd77d8df4adfe35e54e084 (http://www.colettepatterns.com/shop/madeleine)

with quite a few tweaks of my own and an idea or two from Vera Venus’ 1940’s style tap pants vvfrkbadge(veravenus.com)

They are not Directoire Knickers, but they are certainly bigger than Bridget Jones’ famous “enormous panties” (thankyou Hugh Grant :P)!!!

download-1 They are made in the same silk satin as the bra and, as the fit was a bit too generous, I have inserted pleats front and back, I think they are kind of cute ๐Ÿ™‚ย ย  download-2 The legs are finished with a double row of very close zig-zag, I have used this finish before on lingerie and I really like it. Because the pants are cut on the bias, this edge gives the legs a really pretty fluted look.

Ta Da!

10 thoughts on “Bigger than Bridgit’s

  1. Lovely. Nothing quite as sexy as silk lingerie, eh? And especially when they’re so beautiful and you made them yourself. Fabulous, well done!

  2. Thanks Toni ๐Ÿ™‚ I wore the “ensemble” today to work and found it all surprisingly comfortable. The legs on the pants are long enough to stop me feeling a little too uncovered (a problem with the racier French Knickers I’ve made in the past)!

  3. For some reason I’m unable to directly reply to your question…

    No, not too big. ๐Ÿ™‚

    ๐Ÿ˜ฎ was for your comment about feeling uncovered…

  4. oh these are sooooo beautiful ! my youngest daughter has been on at me to buy a pattern to make her , ( and me ) some pretty , pretty lingerie…I will show her your blog. we are both into vintage and I know she will love these too.

Leave a Reply

