A cautionary tale, or, I’m not Japanese!

So, the November Challenge for The Monthly Stitch was “from a sewing book”. I have loved the presentation of most of the Japanese pattern books I have seen, so I thought I would give one a go.

This is “Clothing for everyday wear” by Yoshiko Tsukiori (sorry about the backward-facing pic)Photo 1046

Project K, Pant with hem tucks Photo 1047

You may notice that the model is a gorgeous, petite-sized Japanese girl… I am none of these things! Hence, although the pants were a straightforward make, the fit is a tad disappointing ๐Ÿ˜ฆ download-1 download

I had not factored-in, the long-waisted Asian torso, I amย  short-waisted and Germanic in my build, the pants are elasticated at the waist, but sit on my hips. However, after I had ironed them and put on my op-shop bargain Gordon Smith linen shirt ($15, brand-new $90!), I was pleased with the overall look download-4 and know I will wear them a lot this summer ๐Ÿ™‚

I especially like the chambray-coloured linen (from Potters in North Perth) and the detailing at the hems; the sewn tucks look a bit different and lift these pants above the ordinary.download-3 So, although they didn’t look as I anticipated, I am a happy girlie with this lot! download-5

2 thoughts on “A cautionary tale, or, I’m not Japanese!

  1. Hi Just found your blog via the Monthly stitch. This could be a photo of me, wearing exactly those clothes. I love linen trousers and a linen shirt. You look fabulous in them xxx

Leave a Reply

