I’m baaaack

It’s been a while, I know…my partner and I are both experiencing significant workplace problems and they have really sapped our collective energies; we are both worried about our Mr 20 year-old who seems to be descending into a quagmire of introspection, loneliness and gaming and our daughter is sick, she is on antibiotics and steroids, but methinks it will be a slow path to wellness for her.

All these factors have meant that writing a blog post comes momentarily into my head and then disappears just as quickly.

Anyway, I’m here now, so this post is just random stuff that has been happening, or thought about recently.

Firstly sewing: I had some left over fabric from my ruched t-shirt project and decided I would make a shrug. Inspired by Thornberry’s concoction (http://thornberry.wordpress.com/2014/05/14/flattery-through-imitation-the-shrug), I went mad draping on Sylvia (the dummy) and ended up with this DSC_0671 DSC_0675  DSC_0670

On the whole, I am fairly happy with it, although I am not convinced with the front, the collar ends in points at nipple level, which can look a bit odd; I’m thinking of incorporating it with the side edges.

Our sweet sixteen daughter is going off to Europe in a few weeks time, on a school trip (they never happened like that when I was at school!). So, at her request I have sewn her some shoe bags, she is taking school and choir uniforms and needs the required shoes for those, as well as shoes for walking, dining in etc- that is a lot of shoes!   DSC_0689  She just wanted the bags to be simple, but I thought a bit of applique would mark them as hers and make them a bit more appealing  DSC_0690  – she is happy enough with them… now she just has to get better so she can enjoy travelling as a healthy teenager.

Something else: We have had some strange weather in our corner of the planet; it is officially winter and, although the nights have been cold, we have been having 21-24 degree days- just beautiful (but a bit worrying on the lack of water front). Last weekend, before all the dramas started, we went up to the Hills outside of Perth and visited Mundaring Weir. I grew up with the history of the Weir (more info here, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mundaring_Weir) and the wonderful C.Y. O’Connor (info about him here, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/C._Y._O%27Connor) who made it’s construction happen; but I am aghast to admit that my children were ignorant of it 😦 Not any more. We had a lovely day, breathing the fresh air and walking through the bush, as well as walking along the Weir wall and visiting the accompanying outbuildings. DSC_0662 DSC_0665  DSC_0669  DSC_0664 I grew up in the Perth Hills and count myself very fortunate to have done so, it is a beautiful part of the world to have experienced as daily life.

 

7 thoughts on “I’m baaaack

  1. Hey Jenny! Sorry to hear about your woes, they’re a part of life I guess. I’ve got a family member atm who is deep in introspection as well. I hope he comes out of it, but I suppose he will only in his own time. Physical exercise does do wonders to take one out of one’s mind and firmly into one’s body!! Good to hear daughter is on the mend, antibiotics can really put you on your backside sometimes. I really like those shoe bags – I suppose in Europe you need a different pair of shoes for everything. A friend of mine went to France and had to buy new shoes because she was in trainers and everyone was staring at her!

    • As Michael Stipe sang, ” Ah life, is bigger, bigger than you…”. Thanks for your best wishes Kat, yep, life is pretty crap right now, but there is always tomorrow and it might be better. Shoes are there to make me feel better too!

Leave a Reply

