Just random stuff

There is a small chain of bookshops in Perth that deals mainly in secondhand merchandise and the one here in Subiaco has started this little idea P1030471, clever hey? I haven’t opened it yet as I am still reading something else, but I am looking forward to uncovering the surprise within. They encouraged me to keep the receipt so it can be changed if I have already read it.

I guess this marks me as somewhat susceptible to packaging 😦 Advertising doesn’t register much with me, I have a friend who tries everything new and I use her as an info source should I need), but I acknowledge I am a sucker for beautiful or intriguing wrapping. As a younger person, I would keep boxes or bags that marked themselves as different or special (these days it all mostly goes into recycling). My box collection was HUGE and I knew what was in every one. When I was burgled years ago, the police thought the thieves had not bothered going through my stuff as it was all packaged, but I knew they had been through everything; the lids of the boxes were all sitting wrongly 😦

And now for something completely different…I spotted this egret sitting on next door’s back dunny roof P1030467, the sun was shining directly at the camera, so the shots aren’t that good, but it wasn’t bothered by how close I got to have a look.  Isn’t it superb? We live 3km from the Perth CBD, but Lake Monger and Herdsman Lake are only a couple of km away in the opposite direction- we are so lucky to have this wildlife around us!  P1030469 For info on what a dunny is, have a look here (although the ones in my suburb are not this rustic!) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dunny

Lastly, some sewing.

I made a Burdastyle Esther jacket when I was just learning to sew clothing. PC1_original_large[1] (Burdastyle.com)It is made of very luxe fleece- the best in Perth at the time courtesy of Knitwit in Nedlands. I love the postbox red fabric, but not so much the jacket. Something about it always made it difficult to wear, it didn’t fasten in the front and it is a bit like a long shrug, in that there isn’t enough fabric around the front to have an overlap. I wore it last to see a friend for lunch and all I did was keep fiddling with the wretched thing- what to do?

Well, this is what I did- and it works! P1030463 Two buttons and a doubled-sided loop of fabric and voila, no more fiddling. I also folded the sleeves back as they were ridiculously long. P1030461It will never be a favourite, but now it is much more wearable and I’m happy.

Although it is cold outside, the sun is shining and it looks a beautiful day- I hope you all have a good one 🙂

Leave a Reply

