It is finally starting to feel like Christmas (in my head)

It has been a ridiculously busy year and trying to find time for thoughts other than busyness stuff has been difficult. However, the weather is finally becoming warmer, I have been to a couple of present-themed markets and it is starting to feel like Christmas in my mind. To this end, I have finally made a list of things to get and to do and have actually done a bit of sewing šŸ™‚

I made this pair of trousers two years ago, specifically for Christmas Day, they are a silk/linen mix and beautifully drapey and cool, however the top I made to complete the outfit always felt a little too like surgical scrubs. I have now updated things and intend this to be my Christmas Day ensemble, same pants, different top.

fbjLZMt714dAZhaNlrluen2axx_mjKA4Bax9iZd6jFs=w603-h1072-no If the shape of the top looks familiar to some of you, it is because it is a Sorbetto to which I’ve done a bit of embellishment. The fabric was always a fave from Ikea, but I never bought it as it seemed a bit pricey, however at half price how could I walk away empty-handed? The neckline is pleated and the top itself feels pretty special, quite dressy in fact… I like it!Ā  DSC_0978

The next project has been somewhat bigger in it’s production. My lovely Mum has finally rediscovered her inner artist after an hiatus of probably 60 years. She works in acrylics, oils and pastels and is really enjoying herself. When she saw my daughters art bag she took a shine to it and asked if I would get her one next time I was in the art supplies shop? Of course I said, but then I got thinking…

I asked my daughter if her bag could be better and she thought of some modifications that would improve the design, basically, all the fundamentals were good, but the whole thing needed to be BIGGER, so I went to work.

P1030622 P1030623 P1030624 P1030625 P1030626 The fabrics are an assortment of pieces I have bought at different times, that have come together nicely for this project. The front has pockets for brushes and paint tubes, the sides are pockets for rulers and whatever else, the back has a large pocket secured with velcro and the inside has another separate pocket. The inside base is removable stiff cardboard inserted into a sleeve of thick denim. I have just two things left to do, the outside bottom which will also be in denim because it will need to be hard wearing and I am waiting for my labels to arrive, so I can proudly sew it on the inside. Knowing my Mum, she will love it (fingers crossed!!!).

If life couldn’t be any busier, I have ventured into the land of Etsy. At the moment the store is not open, I am just listing stuff from my extensive wardrobe of designer 1980’s stuff (that I just couldn’t part with before). When I was single and the only person I needed to indulge was me, I spent a lot of money on some gorgeous clothes, but frankly, I am tired of a whole wardrobe being full of beautiful clothes that will never fit me again, the funny thing is that Etsy classes the 1980’s as Vintage!

Ha ha! If anything is going to help me feel as if I am on the way to decrepitude it is being classed as Vintage, I feel “Classic” might be a word I would respond to better!!!

3 thoughts on “It is finally starting to feel like Christmas (in my head)

    • The original art bag is just made out of calico, it is very plain, plus it has the art shop logo on it; a huge purchase ($5!!!). I think it would have been a bit mean to get that one as a Christmas present šŸ˜‰

  1. Pingback: Another foray into bag-making | jenn plays recorder

Leave a Reply

