The mojo is back…

I have been in a fug lately. Negative thoughts and emotions have played havoc with my personal, professional and emotional life. Thankgoodness I have good friends and a love who is supportive.

I tried posting on my smartphone and it didn’t work, which just confirmed my negativity about the world.

But… I am emerging (somewhat slowly) and this weekend actually found a bit of my old mojo had returned 🙂

I decided to start small, I had a few pieces of jewellery which needed mending, earrings, a ring and a necklace, all of which had been shoved aside in multiple pieces. I don’t have a pic of the ring, but it is a lovely piece of paua shell stuck onto a ring base, well the two things had been detached from each other, so it was a simple case of “Supa glue where are you?”- easily fixed.

The earrings too, were a simple fix, just a pair of jewller’s pliers put everything back where they should be. I then got a bit motivated and made myself a pair of silver and freshwater pearl drops, I felt a bit pleased with them

P1030705 P1030704 The next job was to restring a set of malachite beads I had bought in Florence in 1986. I love these and I have missed wearing them for over a year. Anyway, the holes in the malachite are very small and restringing them was proving to be a headache, so I reverted to beading wire and am pretty happy with the end result, lots of lovely green for me!

Well, once I got going you couldn’t stop me.

A couple of weeks ago, I fulfilled one of my daughter’s dreams, by buying her favourite top from her favourite shop. It was half price at $60, more than enough in my mind. It is a one-shoulder knot top in thick blue linen (no pic sorry) and I liked it so much I thought I would make one for myself. I made a toile to start with, as the knot is just tied in one piece of material and guesstimating the length was a bit problematic. The toile ended up being a bit tight, so I added 2cm to the long straight seam and voila- perfect!

P1030709  I made it in a beautiful linen bought as a remnant piece from Potters for $17, the fabric behaved very well and sewed-up without difficulty.

P1030706  P1030707  P1030716  P1030711  P1030715

I will be wearing it my brother’s graduation from Police Training Academy. At the ripe, old age of 43, he has had a career change (from environmental scientist and teacher) and will become a brand-new father in June; it is a very exciting year for him 🙂

9 thoughts on “The mojo is back…

  1. I love the knot in the front, and it’s really flattering. Can’t tell if it’s the fabric or the style, but that looks great on you.

    And you cut your hair! It looks terrific!

  2. Pingback: Not flipping the bird! | The Monthly Stitch

Leave a Reply

