Don’t look at the pocket!!!

I mean it, just don’t (or if you do, wipe it from your memory!). dressing gown

My son at the ripe old age of 21, has decided his dressing gown of the last 7 years is too small and he asked if I would make him a new one, I mean, how much leg does a young man really need to show?

The problem was, he wanted it long and the patterns for men’s “bathrobes” were all cut off just below the knee. I know I could have just bought one and lengthened it, but that was not part of the plan…instead I bought the Lekala (women’s) kimono pattern! Of course, I had to put in “my” measurements and I cannot imagine what sort of Amazon they thought they had as a customer! One with a height of 185cm and an almost straight up and down body, I reasoned that a kimono can be worn loosely and so measurements did not need to be accurate.

The fabric is a heavy poly fleece from Spotlight, 3 enormous metres of it. I don’t like synthetics and I especially don’t like cheap synthetics, this was $10/m and I think the price was about right- it feels horribly plastic to me and very different to some fleece I bought from Knitwit years ago that was more than twice that price. Still, it was what he wanted and he is happy with it.

Men’s sewing is boring. There, I said it.

Lots of very long, straight seams, there was no challenge and little enjoyment in this project. It all came together quite boringly straightforward, except that dear son is ill and refused to get out of his sickbed and try the thing on. Eventually I guesstimated arm length, body length and (unfortunately) pocket placement. The pattern had in-seam pockets, but men’s robes have patch pockets, so I thought I would do the gender-specific thing and go with a patch. It is ridiculously low (yeah, I knew you would look at it). My problem now, is that he won’t let me unpick it and put it in the right place 😦  He just doesn’t care enough about it, but I don’t want him telling anyone I made it either!

On the upside, the dressing gown is roomy, warm and soft, what more does it need to be?

7 thoughts on “Don’t look at the pocket!!!

  1. Why don’t you wait until he goes out and then fix the pocket? I have a husband who won’t let me fix things, so I do it sneakily and then he says how much better it is. Men, bah!

  2. He may be a bit peeved as I have been told to leave it alone, it is now most definitely his! Actually, he has been very supportive of my sewing obsession, I have made him colour-blocked t shirts, slim-fit shorts and a peacoat before this robe and he’s been happy with all of them…his Father, not so easily pleased 😦

  3. Thanks for following The Immortal Jukebox. I hope you enjoy the wide variety of music covered and find the writing entertaining. I usually post on a weekly basis. I welcome comments. If it has been a while since you last visited come on over and see what’s new on The Jukebox. Regards and good luck with all your projects. Thom

Leave a Reply

